Yelapas Casa Viaje

Make your next vacation a Journey to Yelapa!

 

SmallWondersKim
Grand Rapids, Michigan

Private Yelapa Casa with Amazing Panoramic Views

 Left on Feb 28, 2016 for a stay in Jan 2016
We had a wonderful stay at Casa Viaje and felt as though we were on top of the World... We were happy to meet both Jody & Veronica in Yelapa upon our arrival. They both went out of their way to make sure that our stay would be comfortable. The casa is spacious with amazing views from the second floor sundecks. The location is very private and quiet, distancing the sounds of late night music and blind roosters. -Each morning we were greeted with the sounds of parakeets & Chachalacas flying through the valley, and the sight of a beautiful sky from the bedroom window, as the sun ascended over the mountains. Many late nights were spent star gazing from the bedroom sundecks.- We are frequent visitors to Yelapa and highly recommend Casa Viaje based on its privacy, location (short walk to the beach vs. the pueblo), views, ambiance & spaciousness.

 

73michaelv
New York City, New York

What a great place to relax, unwind and forget the worries back home!

 Left on Jan 27, 2016 for a stay in Dec 2015
We loved everything about this casa. The airiness of the bedroom - the sun streaming in, (through the glassless windows) in the morning, the sounds of the birds and the utter tranquility and restfulness of the place. It is a bit of a trek to get there, but totally worth it, and we felt much fitter by the end of the week. While it is very comfortable it is not luxurious, but if you like gazing out of the shower (no glass in the windows) and looking at the trees that surround this house, then this is the place for you. Jody and Veronica made sure we were safely installed and their recommendation of their friend Geraldo (the capitan) was an excellent one. He took us in his boat to far off deserted beaches and went out of his way to make sure we saw what we wanted to. Make sure you take lots of cash (most restaurants do not take credit cards) and no ATMs here! The beach restaurants have great food and heavenly margaritas! Pack light - or arrange for Geraldo's son to help with the luggage (we did just that for our departure) for a small fee.

 

Trish M
Golden, Colorado

A wonderful getaway!

 Left on Feb 23, 2015 for a stay in Nov 2014
1 people found this review helpful
It was everything I expected and more. What a wonderful escape to a beautiful village. Casa Viaje was comfortable and well attended. We were truly relaxed and enjoyed our time in Yelapas. Jody y Veronica sincerely want the best for their guests. We will make a point to return!

 

MI

Authentic secluded bungalow in paradice

1 people found this review helpful
My fiance' and I stayed the first half of our honeymoon here. It was such a beautiful setting high above the beach and a little into the jungle. We still had an excellent view of the ocean with cool breezes coming in during the day and night. I loved the open air feel of the place with lizards scurrying in and out. Not a single mosquito or bug did I see, though this was the dry season in late June. Our favorite spot was the balcony where we watched evening sunsets and listened to distant music. I also really loved the soft concrete stained floors. They felt like butter to tired feet from hiking. It is a bit of a hike up from the shore, but well worth the privacy. We were so very sad to leave this place. A gentleman named Jose showed us to our lodgings the first time and advised us on various activities we undertook. He never steered us wrong! 

 

BC

A magical vacation in Yelapa at Casa Viaje


My husband and I spent 9 nights at Casa Viaje in late January. It was a magical and exhilerating experience. Jody met us at the airport and went all the way to Yelapa with us, and showed us to the Casa which made it a very easy experience. On the boatride over, we saw tonnes of dolphins jumping in the sun- truly breathtaking. The view out the kitchen window looking towards the endless jungled mountains was one of my favourite aspects of the casa. I also enjoyed the outdoor shower, and the way the candle-lit casa looked at night (there were lights bet we preferred the look of candles). On the first night on the way to bed, my husband said "look up" -- above were the most stars I have seen in my life. Remember to take a few sweaters as it gets a little chilly at night. Also bring hiking boots and a good headlamp! We spent most of the days at the beach in front of the hotel - the staff at the hotel are awesome. The food is delicious as are the drinks - and incredibly well priced! Thank you Jody and Veronica for this amazing experience. xo T.

 

Ashland OR

A week in paradise


If you're used to staying in an exclusive, or all inclusive resort and being pampered by the staff, this is not the right vacation for you. But if you're looking for a truly romantic, tropical getaway and you have a little sense of adventure, this may just be the place for you. I can't help but think that this must have been similar to the romantic place that Richard Burton and Elizabeth Taylor must have shared near here some fifty years ago during the filming of the "The Night of the Iguana". We had a wonderful relaxing stay at Casa Viaje, the most relaxing and romantic vacation that we've ever had. We both agree that we would like to return next year. Casa Viaje is great for its spaciousness, kitchen, and privacy. And the views! We really had the best of both worlds. We could retreat up into the jungle to our very secluded casa, or we could come down to the hotel on the beach where we had privileges to use all its facilities. Our caretaker, Genero, and his family were so helpful and kind. Jody met us at the airport and accompanied us to the water taxi,also, making that transition easy. Mateo met us at the dock in Yelapa and took us to the casa and carried my heavy pack, too. We loved our week there!! Laura and Bil

 

B.C. Canada

Romance Re-lit


Casa Viaje is more than a just a 'trip' to a vacation spot. It is an experience. The nightly singing of the crickets, the gasping mountain breeze through the open aired concept casa; waking up to sqwawking parrots and chirping parakeets, breathes the fresh air of life! Casa Viaje is the perfect setting for romance at any age. The semi-remoteness,lends itself to total loss of inihibitions. Sexy dias, siestas, and noches, provided us with all the entertainment we needed. At night,there was the added bonus of being lulled to sleep by the distant, 'musica' of Yelapa's restaurants, and bars. In the late morning, we would make our way down the path to the ocean, or visit the Pueblo of Yelapa, take a tour to Marietas Islands, and more. Planning the day was not in the cards for us. Time, did not exist- no need for wathches - went with the flow, lived in the moment! Jody and Veronica, (the owners) told us, on our arrival, to make the casa our own, and we did. Casa Viaje is the ultimate place to begin, rekindle, or rebuild the relationship with your significant other half. Words, alone, cannot describe how beautiful our time was in Casa Viaje. At ages 61 and 56, what more could you ask? Twelve nights will turn into many more in the future.
Bill y Mary 

 

Texas

Life changing.


Wow where shall we start. First off Jody and Veronica were awesome and right on about everything! The casa was amazing and the views are spectacular. The first night or two were a little weird at first, everything is open. But once you settle in and let Yelapa happen, I'm telling you its life changing. We loved everything from the casa to the village, the people, food, sunsets (every night), hiking the beach and of course the pie lady, just everything about it. I could go on and on, we absolutely loved and cannot wait to get back. Thanks again to Jody and Veronica for their hospitality. It was everything we expected and more. Peace & Love, B&S

 

CO, USA

I feel like a human again thanks to Casa Viaje

 
Casa Viaje is truly magical. Enough isolation to wander naked and take a blissful almost-outdoor shower but close enough to beachlife and the town to have the option of busier exploration. I luxuriated in the big bed and on a balcony lounger and read 2 books. We ventured into the authentic mexican town and took gentle hikes to the waterfall, the point and into the surrounding countryside. We sipped cocktails on the beach and took a dip in the bay. I started to feel like a real human being again. While I enjoyed the next 3 days in Puerto Vallarta, you were so right. I could have spent those days and perhaps another few months quite happilly at Casa Viaje and in Yelapa. You are so lucky to own this place and we are so lucky to have stayed there.

 

Seattle

My wife and I stayed at Casa Viaje for 4 glorious nights in April


Overall, the house was excellent! When we arrived at the pier on the beach side of Yelapa, Jody was there to greet us and show us up to the house. The house is about a 5 minute walk up the hill directly behind the Hotel Lagunita. The house itself is very well constructed and well maintained. Jody and Veronica did a really great job on the construction. Some of the details, like the ceiling downstairs in the kitchen area are just beautiful. The house has hot water, a propane gas stove, a microwave, fresh bottled water, and a refrigerator. The whole house is open, i.e. there is no glass in the windows. This makes for great views of the beach and the jungle. It also helps to move air through the house when it gets warm in the late afternoon. The bed is equipped with a mosquito net although we probably didn’t need it. My wife tends to get bitten really badly by bugs in general, so she had her usual 10 or so bites, but I think those were mostly from the beach and walking around the village. We brought bug juice but never used it. Because the house is open, there seemed to be some kind of late night marauder that would go into the kitchen and knock over the trash and drink out of the toilet. We never found out what it was (nocturnal mammal of some sort? Dog?). It never bothered us so it wasn’t a big deal, more of just a curiosity for us to ponder as we sipped our margaritas on beach chairs at the hotel. In some of the reviews that I read about Yelapa people were a little put off by the bugs and the lizards and the animals. Keep in mind that this house is open and these little critters are there. If you need a really pristine air conditioned room with windows then Yelapa probably isn’t the place for you, but if you like the sight of a gecko crawling on a wall in the room and the sound of an iguana scurrying on the roof overhead and waking up to the parrots squawking, then this could be the kind of place you’re looking for.

 

"Off the beaten track at a gorgeous place"

Wonderful, relaxing, invigorating!
We loved the quiet setting, the view, the jungle
around the house, especially the short walk through
"butterfly" alley. The beach was clean, the ocean
cristall clear. We enjoyed the little town of Yelapa
with it's restaurants. We will be back soon!

A place to be yourself

.....my wife and i just returned to the Pacific Coast of Mexico after our last visit more than 25 years ago'...'we knew that much had changed along the coast but we were hoping that the sleepy fishing village of Yelapa had retained its charm because of its somewhat remote location....we were not disappointed...its still a quaint getaway spot that has plenty of old Mexico feel and tradition although there are some modern updates like electricity and flush toilets....still no cars and thats part of what makes iit special.....there are also a few places available to rent that are a step above the pelapas that were available 25 years ago...but they are still unpretentious and real..one such rental is Casa Viaje....we found it on the internet and could not have been more fortunate in finding a place to stay for our perfect vacation....check it out when planning your visit...just google casa viaje yelapa and their website will pop up....the owners are super helpful and they supply you with not only a fantastic place to stay but also some contacts with locals that make you feel right at home.....no affiliation on my part...just passing along a good tip....the playa...the river...the pueblo.....the sea....even the dogs....its all good in Yelapa

pattywax

Sisters, Oregon